Faculty & Staff

David Leitao

Department Chair

Michael Anderson

Pithos & Eta Sigma Phi Advisor

Gillian McIntosh

Associate Professor
Graduate Coordinator

Alexandra Pappas

Associate Professor
CSA Advisor; Director, Center for Greek Studies

David Smith

Undergraduate Coordinator

Elias Avinger


Alice Chapman


Tom Recht


Seth Chabay

Academic Office Coordinator

Faculty Emeriti

Phillip V. Stanley
Greek Archaeology
Emeritus 2006

Pamela Vaughn
Latin Literature
Emerita 2014

John Wonder
Roman Archaeology
Emeritus 2020


In Memoriam

Andreina Becker-Colonna
Appointed 1950
Emerita 1975

Marian Bernstein
Appointed 1977
Emerita 2006

Raoul Bertrand
Appointed 1958
Emeritus 2000

Edith Croft
Appointed 1966
Emerita 1992

Thanasis Maskaleris
Appointed 1967
Emeritus 1992

Barbara McLauchlin
Appointed 1985
Emerita 2006

Richard Trapp
Appointed 1965
Emeritus 1992

Affiliated Faculty

Fred Astren (Jewish Studies)
Medieval Judaism and Islam

Douglas Bailey (Anthropology)
Balkan Archaeology, Prehistoric Art

Dennis Campbell (History)
Near Eastern History, Hittites and Hurrians, Hurrian Language

Shirin Khanmohamadi (Comparative Literature)
Medieval European Literature, European-Middle Eastern Interactions

Raoul Bertrand Endowed Chair

The Raoul Bertrand Chair in Classics was established in 2012 thanks to a gift of $1.35 million from the estate of Raoul Bertrand, a long-time member of the Department of Classics. Professor Bertrand was born in 1923. He earned a B.A. at the University of British Columbia in 1944, then a Doctorat d’État at the Collège de France in 1955. His first major appointment was at the American University of Beirut, where he taught for ten years (1948-1958) before joining the faculty at San Francisco State in 1958, where he taught until his retirement in 1999. One of the accomplishments Prof. Bertrand himself is most proud of from his years at the university is his participation in the founding of the “Friends of the J. Paul Leonard Library.” He died in 2007 at the age of 84. Dr. Alexandra Pappas is the inaugural holder of the chair.

Faculty Profile: David Leitao

Faculty Profile: Alexandra Pappas

Faculty Profile: Michael Anderson

Faculty Profile: Gillian McIntosh